Music Tracks

Darol Anger - Heritage

Download links

Darol Anger - Heritage
MP3 version

1727 downloads at 34 mb/s

Darol Anger - Heritage
FLAC version

1664 downloads at 35 mb/s

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Headwaters: Shenandoah
Bass [Fretless], Featuring – Michael ManringPiano, Featuring – Phillip Aaberg*Violin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin], Cittern – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Jane Siberry
2 While Roving On A Winter's Night
Banjo [Nylon 5 String Banjo], Featuring – Bela Fleck*Electric Bass – Victor WootenGuitar [Baritone], Featuring – John Jennings Guitar [Weissenborn Kona Guitar], Featuring – David LindleyPercussion – Joe CravenSynthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Darol Anger, Phillip Aaberg*Violin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Dar Williams, John Gorka
3 Are You Tired Of Me, My Darling?
Banjo [Five String Banjo], Featuring – Tony TrischkaBass – Todd PhillipsGuitar – Mike Marshall Oboe, Featuring – Paul McCandlessPercussion – Darol Anger, Joe CravenSynthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Barbara HigbieViolin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin], Bouzouki [Bouzouki Flangs] – Darol Anger
4 Pretty Polly
Bass [Cicada Bass], Featuring – Edgar MeyerGuitar, Guitar [Baritone], Featuring – John Jennings Violin [Bird Violin] – Tracy SilvermanViolin, Violin [Ferrington Violin], Cello, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Mary-Chapin Carpenter*
5 Down In The Willow Garden
Accordion, Synthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Barbara HigbieBass [Fretless], Featuring – Victor WootenGuitar [Solo] – David GrierPercussion, Shaker, Percussion [Pots & Pans] – Joe CravenViolin [Ferrington Violin], Guitar [Clank Guitar] – Darol AngerWhistle, Bass Clarinet, Featuring – Paul McCandless
6 Hard Times Come Again No More
Adapted By – Stephen Foster Arranged By – Darol Anger, David LindleyMandolin, Featuring – David GrismanPiano – Phillip Aaberg*Violin – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By], Guitar – Willie Nelson
7 La Ville Des Manteau
Bass – Victor WootenCittern, Guitar, Featuring – Mike Marshall Drums [Drum Kit] – Aaron JohnstonPiano, Synthesizer [Synth Schmear], Featuring – Phillip Aaberg*Triangle – Joe CravenVocals [Sung By], Fiddle, Featuring – Michael DoucetVocals [Sung By], Violin [Octave Violin], Fiddle [More Fiddles] – Darol Anger
8 Rise Up, Shepherd, And Follow
Double Bass [String Bass] – Todd PhillipsDrums [Traps] – Aaron JohnstonGuitar, Featuring – Russell Barenberg*Piano – Barbara HigbieResonator Guitar [Resophonic Guitar], Featuring – Jerry DouglasSynthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Phillip Aaberg*Violin – Darol Anger
9 Oh, Death
Arranged By – Darol Anger, David LindleyDouble Bass [String Bass] – Todd PhillipsGuitar [Weissenborn Kona Guitar], Tap Dance [Heel & Toe], Featuring – David LindleyMandolin [Mandocello], Featuring – David GrismanPercussion [Big Bag Of Junk] – Joe CravenViolin [Octave Violins], Violin [Ferrington Violin], Guitar [Papoose Guitar] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Mavis Staples
10 Shenandoah: A Quiet Place/Golden Slippers
Electric Piano [Piano-like Electric Slab] – Phillip Aaberg*Ensemble – The Nashville LumberyardErhu [Chinese Violin], Violin [Zeta Violin], Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerFiddle [The Nashville Lumberyard] – Darol Anger, Matt Glaser*, Sam Bush, Stuart Duncan, Tim O'Brien Fiddle [The Nashville Lumberyard], Featuring – John Hartford, Vassar Clements
11 Talk About Suffering Here Below
Arco Bass, Bass [Pizzicato Bass], Featuring – Edgar MeyerDulcimer [Hammered] – Tony ElmanHarp [Celtic] – Barbara HigbieMandolin [Octave Mandolin], Guitar, Guitar [Pencil Guitar] – Darol AngerStrings [String Quartet] – Barry Phillips, Darol Anger, David Balakrishnan, Drew Tretick
12 The Water Is Wide
Banjo [Five String Banjos], Featuring – Bela Fleck*Bass [Fretless], Featuring – Michael ManringGuitar [Baritone], Featuring – John Jennings Mandolin, Featuring – David GrismanTalking Drum, Goblet Drum [Dumbek], Percussion [The Big Drum] – Joe CravenViolin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin], Synthesizer [Schmear] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Tim O'Brien
13 Queen Of The Earth, Child Of The Stars
Fiddle [Five String Fiddle] – Darol AngerGuitar [Ambient Guitar], Featuring – John Jennings Harp [Celtic] – Barbara Higbie
14 To The Sea: O Shenandoah!
Arranged By – Darol Anger, Jane SiberryDouble Bass [String Bass] – Todd PhillipsPiano, Synthesizer, Featuring – Phillip Aaberg*Steel Drums [Steel Pans], Featuring – Andy NarellViolin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Jane SiberryVocals [With] – Hallie Skye Veninger-Switzer


  • Coordinator [Production Coordinator] – Willa Rabinovitch
  • Design – Aldo Sampieri
  • Engineer [Bias] – Jim Robinson
  • Engineer [Brad Hartman] – Brad Hartman
  • Engineer [Fiddlistics & Holzen Residence] – Roland Gare
  • Engineer [Fiddlistics] – Bob Appel, Jim Nunally
  • Engineer [Hinge, Assisted By] – Steve Johnson
  • Engineer [Hinge] – Craig Bauer
  • Engineer [Live Wire] – Steven Miller
  • Engineer [Mobius, Assisted By] – Christian Jones
  • Engineer [Mobius] – Oliver DiCicco
  • Engineer [Reaction] – David Travers-Smith
  • Engineer [Spark] – John Vigran, Kent Carter
  • Executive-producer – Bob Appel, Robert Duskis
  • Illustration – Greg Couch
  • Mastered By – Kenneth Lee*
  • Mixed By – Darol Anger, Stephen Hart
  • Photography By – Jay Blakesberg
  • Producer, Arranged By, Liner Notes [Notes] – Darol Anger
  • Written-By – Traditional


"New Interpretations Of American Roots Music"

Manufactured and Marketed by Island Records, Inc., a PolyGram company.
℗© 1997 Island Records, Inc.
Made in the U.S.A.

Recorded at Fiddlistics Studio, Oakland, CA; Bias Studio, Springfield, VA; Reaction Studio, Toronto, ON; Hinge Studio, Chicago IL; Brad Hartman Studio, Nashville, TN; Spark Studio, Emeryville, CA; Tom & Helen Holzen's house, Nashville; Mobius Studio, San Francisco, CA; Live Wire Studio, New York City, NY; and the musicians' homes.
Mixed at Egghead Studio, Berkeley, CA.
Mastered at Rocket Lab, San Francisco, CA.

No main artist is given on the cover or spine. However, this was re-released by Six Degrees in 2005 as a Darol Anger album (without track 13 and with the remaining tracks reordered).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 314-524434-2 7

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
KOC-CD-8032 Darol Anger Heritage ‎(HDCD, Album, RE) Koch Records KOC-CD-8032 US 1998

Darol Anger - Heritage
Artist: Darol Anger
Album's title: Heritage
Label: Six Degrees Records ‎– 314-524 434-2
Type: CD, Album, HDCD
Country: US
Date of released: 1997
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Acoustic, Bluegrass, Folk
ZIP Size MP3: 1664 mb
ZIP Size FLAC: 1727 mb
Rating: 3.6/5
Votes: 470