Music Tracks

Mitsogho / Batéké - Gabon: Musiques Des Mitsogho Et Des Batéké

Tracklist Hide Credits

Mitsogho Music, Bwiti Ritual
A1 Mitsogho Harp And Vocal Solo: Ngombi (Eight Stringed Harp And Male Voice)
Harp [Ngombi], Vocals – Ndjodi
A2 Mitsogho Procession Of Initiates: Male Chorus, Ngombi (Harp), Nguta (Jingles), Madjoko (Small Pellet-Bells) 2:48
A3 Mitsogho Playing Of The Musical Bow (Mugongo) 1:29
A4 Mitsogho Initiatory Speech And Musical Bow: Male Voice Of The Povi, Soké (Vegetable Rattle), Mugongo (Bow)
Vocals [Povi] – Nzuba
A5 Mitsogho Series Of Dances: Harp, Beam, Three Membrane Drums 2:24
A6 Mitsogho Voice Of The Ya Mwèï (Mother Of The Floods): Masked Voice, Male Chorus, Kéndo (Iron Bell With Curved Handle), Mosumba (Drum) 3:50
A7 Mitsogho Chorus Of Lamentations: Male Voice And Harp, Male Chorus, Ghèmbomba (Transverse Trumpet Made Of Horn), Eghèngè (Small Metallic Bells Of European Make), Nguta (Jingles) 3:05
A8 Batéké* Final Procession: Male Chorus, Transverse Trumpet, Soké And Nguta (Rattles And Jingles), Bird Songs (Passer Griseus Ugandae, Reichenow) 2:12
Batéké Music
B1 Batéké* Song And Two Sanza: Three Men's Voices And Two Sanza, Kasa (Vegetable Rattle) 3:34
B2 Batéké* Song And Sanza: Sanza With Rattan Tongues And Male Voices 1:47
B3 Batéké* Oniugu: Five Male Voices And Two Sanza 3:10
B4 Batéké* Harp-zither Solo And Song
Zither [Harp-zither], Vocals – Ngamamane Georges
B5 Batéké* Onkila (Or Kankira) Dance. Ngwomi (Five Stringed Compound Bow), Ndjaga (Vegetable Rattle), Ngomo (Vertical Drum With Nailed Skin), One Male Voice, Female Chorus 5:05
B6 Batéké* Dance Of The Ébanigi: Male Chorus, On'kughu (Double Bell), Kindu (Bell With Infernal Clapper And Curved Handle) 4:15

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Musidisc – MU 241 K
  • Pressed By – A.R.E.A.C.E.M.


  • Engineer – Jean Schwarz
  • Executive Producer [Secrétariat D'édition / Editorial Assistant] – Hugo Zemp
  • Performer – Batéké (tracks: B1 to B8), Mitsogho (tracks: A1 to A8)
  • Recorded By, Photography, Liner Notes – Pierre Sallée
  • Recording Supervisor [Dirigée Par / Editor] – Gilbert Rouget


Cover info:
Collection Musée de l'Homme - Département d'ethnomusicologie
Comes in a gatefold cover with 10-page of texts in French translated in English and photographies.

The recordings on side A were made September, 1966, for bands 2 and 8, and in May-June, 1968, for the remainder, in the districts of Mimongo, Bilengui and Etéké (Ngounié).
The recordings on side B were made July-August, 1965, in the Léconi region and the Tsoulo trail (Haut-Ogooué)

Radio France
Musée des Arts et Traditions de Libreville et Office de la recherche scientifique et technique Outre-Mer

Center-labels info:
Made in France
Musiques traditionelles vivantes - Radio France

Run-out info:
* AREACEM (very small stamp, * is a very little sign I cannot decode)

Extra info:
Album notes indicate that the Mitsogho live in mountainous equatorial forest and the Batéké live in savanna between the western Gabon/Congo border.
M. Mondjo, J. Moubégna, and J. Abala are being thanked as "informants".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): * AREACEM OCR 84A
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): * AREACEM OCR 84B

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
OCR 84 Mitsogho / Batéké* Mitsogho / Batéké* - Gabon: Musiques Des Mitsogho Et Des Batéké ‎(LP, Mono) Ocora OCR 84 France Unknown
OCR 84 Mitsogho / Batéké* Mitsogho / Batéké* - Gabon: Musiques Des Mitsogho Et Des Batéké ‎(LP, RE) Ocora OCR 84 France 1984
Mitsogho / Batéké - Gabon: Musiques Des Mitsogho Et Des Batéké
Artist: Mitsogho
Album's title: Gabon: Musiques Des Mitsogho Et Des Batéké
Label: Ocora ‎– OCR 84
Type: Vinyl, LP, Stereo, Reissue
Country: France
Date of released:
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Field Recording
ZIP Size MP3: 1537 mb
ZIP Size FLAC: 1470 mb
Rating: 4.4/5
Votes: 429